Posted in Wicca/Witchcraft

Devotion to Witchcraft

0b28d81e0c3b20e0820f2f7a1d679176I have a mundane Facebook account that holds my interest less every day. I follow very few of my friends, and am mainly interested in my kids posts about my grandkids. However, one of my children posts very rarely due to the sensitivity of his job. Instagram provides the same photos. Other than that, it’s my right-wing friends harping about the damned liberals (that would be me), or posting stuff like “repost if you love Jesus.” I’ve filled my news feed with Pagan & witchcraft groups & pages, but don’t feel I can really participate in them. While I identify as Pagan, I think posts regarding witchcraft would cause a bit more than a mild stir.

A few years ago, I started a Facebook account under my then Craft name, which is basically interchangeable with the one I most commonly use. I’ve filled that feed with witchcraft and Pagan groups & pages, while eschewing most of the political pages I follow in my mundane account. Interestingly, I have almost as many friends on that account as I have on my mundane account, which is 6 years older! I’ve found most Pagans & witches on Facebook to be very friendly.

The reason I bring this up is to demonstrate what is quickly becoming my nearly total immersion into witchcraft life. I’m lucky to have a few very good friends in “real life”, and we stay in touch. I see them on a fairly regular basis. But past that, most of our old friends have fallen away. This has resulted in a closer bond with immediate family. There are no other witches in my family, but I’ve made no secret about my Paganism. We just don’t talk about spirituality that much. Which makes my social media life so important to me.

Most all my social media is witchcraft driven. It is what I like to talk about, and I love to read the writings of others who are on similar paths.

I’ve fallen back in love with Wicca. It’s a far cry from my freak out a few months ago. Actually, it’s probably a result of it. It was a spiritual reawakening for me. Fortunately, I have my blog readers, my Twitter friends, my Google+ friends, & my Craft Facebook friends with which to rub virtual elbows. I’ve stopped reading judgmental blogs and articles by those who want to talk at, and not with to others.

With a background in psychology & sociology, I understand the complications and hazards of harboring the secrets of a life you would like to lead. I’ve gotten tired of suffering the suppression of my spiritual path. I enjoy the association with other witches and Pagans. I’m a much nicer person as a witch, and am often surly when I’m hiding it, simply because I resent hiding it. So why make myself and others miserable?

There will be future roadblocks, but this is the very thing that can enable the possibility of achieving serenity in my life.

I’d love to hear your thoughts. I know many people have to keep their Craft lives close to the vest. How does that affect you? Are there others out there who have completely changed their lives to accommodate their path? Please feel free to comment!

Thanks for reading and Blessed Be!

Author:

Adult male Pagan, witch, and modern day hippie. I've been on the Craft path since February of 2004. For much of my life I was the picture of consumerism. Only after finding Wicca in my early 40's, did I realize that buying and having lots of stuff did not equate to happiness. So I, along with my wife, decided to live a simpler lifestyle. I opted to take a more casual and hands-on approach to a magickal life. Cottage witchery lets me infuse magick into everyday home life and activities. In our home, we have flipped the "normal" social roles, as I am in charge of household care & cooking. Previously, I didn't think I could remain a Wiccan while relaxing my physical rituals, but now, I see no problem with that whatsoever. Now, I try to use all natural and homemade cleaning products. I use essential oils and other simple ingredients to make body care products. We are suburban hippies, with a little witchcraft thrown in for good measure.

4 thoughts on “Devotion to Witchcraft

  1. I envy your bravery! I also recall that when I had a facebook account it was exactly the same thing, since most of my acquaintances and family are either christian, or leaning christian.
    The biggest reason I don’t disclose my religion to others though is because I don’t want to be another conversion attempt. Some people are like bulldogs, they grab on and they don’t let go. I mean for godsake! I don’t go to church and try to convert you!
    I have no desire to entwine myself in these sort of stressful situations.Some things are just better left unsaid.
    So like you I’m slowly finding my voice, and a community of sorts online…
    I’m lucky though, the one closest to me doesn’t care the least that I’m a witch ❤ Sometimes all you need in this life is one good friend!
    Thanks for this post!

    Meno

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for the comment! I’m not so sure you would call it bravery, maybe more like an intense need to connect with others who I share a close spiritual bond! Having the person closest to you accept your path is a great blessing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I share a lot of your feelings on “socializing” as a witch. In the real world, I’ve bumped into a handful of witches, but those associations have faded do to moving, or changing jobs…just general life changes that create a sense of distance in that connection, and we’ve kind of lost touch. Others I’ve bumped into were moreso “psychic vampire” (best way to describe it) than witch. Otherwise, it’s not the easiest thing linking up with others who follow the Craft. It’s not like you can just walk up to random people and ask them, and other witches seem to be the same way — guarded about how they present that part of themselves, and for good reason. I’m finding that social media has been an excellent way to connect with others, but even then, there is some…distance. People can be anyone online. As a witch, I crave connection, but I think I’m starting to make peace with…I connect to people at certain times and certain places when I am supposed to, and that connection fades in it’s own time (if it fades), and that’s ok too. Some associations I have a for a couple days of conversations on Facebook, and some are a lifetime…like my husband. Thank you for the post! It got me thinking a little deeper, and I enjoy that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your thoughts. Your comment about people being anyone online is something to really keep in mind. I’ve often said that there is probably a good percentage of “witches” giving out advice online, or judging others, who have probably read one book (if that) & who really practice online witchcraft, which to say is they talk a good game. What I like about blogs is that you can get a pretty good sense of what a person is like from the totality of their writings. Twitter can provide that also. Facebook, not so much. Facebook reminds me of high school. Lots of posturing, and lots of “look at how great my life is” stuff. You’ve touched on lots of thoughts that I could write forever about. Thanks for reading! Blessed Be!

      Like

Leave a Reply

