Posted in Wicca/Witchcraft

A Sign From The Deities?

d1d7e3b0d9e47efd08d50906e789e3edAt some point in late May, I kept hearing a noise. With pets, there are always noises, so I dismissed it. When it persisted, I investigated. What I found was a cardinal flying into our window, feet first, then flying away. This happened again and again. Then it tried another window, and another, and another. This went on for a few weeks, but lessened in frequency.

We have also had a lot of crows or blackbirds around, squawking loudly, drawing the attention of the cats. I don’t remember this happening in the past.

We have also had an influx of bugs. Not a lot, an ant here and there, which has happened in the past, especially during long, dry patches of weather. I’ve also gotten rid of some weird little bugs, things I don’t ever remember seeing before.

Normally, I don’t view things like the above happenings in spiritual terms. Birds see their reflections in windows, think it’s another bird violating their space, and “attack” it. I’m sure there have always been blackbirds around, I just didn’t notice much. And we’ve had the windows open a lot more than we usually do. Bugs are inevitable in the spring.

But this year, after some rocky spiritual times recently, I’m thinking that maybe, just maybe, there is some spiritual reason for these naturally occurring events. I was going to say I was throwing out death, which can be read into crows and birds flying into windows, but the more I think about it, perhaps this was a sign of “get your ass in gear spiritually.”

Here’s why I think that. I think of myself as polytheistic, believing in many, many deities. Generally, I think in terms of the Wiccan concept of a God and Goddess representing those many deities. Otherwise, it just seems overwhelming. But when I’m looking for a particular event to happen, I work with a deity who represents that happening. Aphrodite for love, Ra for sunshine, you get the idea.

In trying to get my witchcraft life back on track, I went to my “go-to” deities for individuality, independence, and ass kicking. That would be Lucifer and Lilith. Lucifer the light bearer, and Lilith, the goddess representing wisdom, knowledge, freedom of thought, from a feminine viewpoint. I think of them as underworld deities, which is associated with, well, death. So when I appealed to them for strength and guidance, to know if I was still on the right path, perhaps they sent a few signs for me.

Again, let me reiterate, I don’t normally read much into naturally occurring events, but in that time of personal crisis and yeah, pain, perhaps L & L felt that I needed some kind of sign that said, “We hear ya, and yes, witchcraft is the right path for you. And stop your whining!”

Which got me thinking, are there signs all over the place, and I’m just not paying enough attention to realize, notice, or understand them? Am I missing out on an aspect of witchcraft that could deepen my understanding of the path?

I know there are many people, witches and others, who put a lot of faith in this type of thing. I’ve always kind of dismissed it, but now I think I might have been doing myself a disservice.

What do you think? I’d really love to hear from those of you that put stock in this aspect of spirituality. Or perhaps those that think there is nothing to it. Feel free to comment!

Thanks for reading, and Blessed Be!

Author:

Adult male Pagan, witch, and modern day hippie. I've been on the Craft path since February of 2004. For much of my life I was the picture of consumerism. Only after finding Wicca in my early 40's, did I realize that buying and having lots of stuff did not equate to happiness. So I, along with my wife, decided to live a simpler lifestyle. I opted to take a more casual and hands-on approach to a magickal life. Cottage witchery lets me infuse magick into everyday home life and activities. In our home, we have flipped the "normal" social roles, as I am in charge of household care & cooking. Previously, I didn't think I could remain a Wiccan while relaxing my physical rituals, but now, I see no problem with that whatsoever. Now, I try to use all natural and homemade cleaning products. I use essential oils and other simple ingredients to make body care products. We are suburban hippies, with a little witchcraft thrown in for good measure.

2 thoughts on “A Sign From The Deities?

  1. I think that birds and other animals can be great communicators. This past spring I got a lot of messages from robins. (This, believe it or not, included nest building and ‘flying lessons’!) Ironically, one of my go-to deities is Robin Goodfellow. It took me a few weeks to understand this, then I thought DUH! Of course 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Although we humans obviously have more complex brains than animals, we clutter our minds with lots of useless noise. Animals simply rely upon their inbred intuition, which proves them to be more astute than us in many instances. Christine, thanks for reading and commenting! Blessed Be!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

