Posted in Everyday Life, Wicca/Witchcraft

On Becoming A Pleasant Witch

This is a post I’ve written before, or at least like one I had written. It’s basically about my evolution as a person since I embraced Wicca in the early part of 2004. It’s relatively difficult to change as a person. We may desire to change, and we may change for awhile, but real change is a challenge. It can happen though, sometimes by sheer willpower, and sometimes simply as a result of circumstances.

Beginning in high school, even though I was a hippie kid (this was the 70’s!), I was a cynical shit. I wore that badge of cynicism proudly. I thought I was being smart and mature. This pretty well continued until my life was shattered by death and divorce in the late 80’s. Cynicism gave way to hopelessness.

Luckily, I managed to make it through that period. Friends told me later that they were unsure I would live through those several years. My life eventually got back on track, but never completely. It was really one of those life experiences which is said to change you forever.

But sure enough, the cynicism came back like a champ, like a bad penny. By this time I had dropped all spirituality, including any trace of my birth religion. A lifelong affiliation with my birth congregation had proven useless when I really needed them, so, you know, screw them.

By the early 2000’s, I began to feel the need for some spirituality in my life. I didn’t want some organized religion that valued money over most everything else. I found Wicca. I’ve written before about how that happened, so I won’t go into details.

Then, something weird happened. I changed. Cynicism gave way to open-mindedness. Let’s be honest, it’s impossible to believe in a God and Goddess, the existence of many deities, and the power of magick, without having an open mind. Cynical people could never be Wiccans or witches. Never.

Losing cynicism made me a more pleasant person. If you look at the world with an open mind, you are absolutely going to be a nicer individual. This is not to say I’m not suspect about things from time to time. I am, but it isn’t my default life outlook, and that feels like a weight that was lifted off my shoulders.

I’ve always loved the movie Harvey. In one scene, Jimmy Stewart has a line that I can now identify with. And here it is:

Author:

Adult male Pagan, witch, and modern day hippie. I've been on the Craft path since February of 2004. For much of my life I was the picture of consumerism. Only after finding Wicca in my early 40's, did I realize that buying and having lots of stuff did not equate to happiness. So I, along with my wife, decided to live a simpler lifestyle. I opted to take a more casual and hands-on approach to a magickal life. Cottage witchery lets me infuse magick into everyday home life and activities. In our home, we have flipped the "normal" social roles, as I am in charge of household care & cooking. Previously, I didn't think I could remain a Wiccan while relaxing my physical rituals, but now, I see no problem with that whatsoever. Now, I try to use all natural and homemade cleaning products. I use essential oils and other simple ingredients to make body care products. We are suburban hippies, with a little witchcraft thrown in for good measure.

Leave a Reply

