Posted in Everyday Life, Wicca/Witchcraft

The Broom Closet: In or Out?

MuCNJptToday I joined another Pagan/witchcraft group on Facebook. Let me preface this by saying that I am using Facebook less and less. I was quite active in the past, but came to the conclusion that I was “talking” to the same people over and over again, and many of them couldn’t have cared less about the things I found interesting. In my Facebook realm, the posts that get the most attention seem to be pictures of kids, grandkids, and pets. While I find some of those wonderful, several daily doses of that become tedious. So my Facebook has largely become a news aggregator and a collection of Pagan/witchcraft pages I like, and groups to which I belong.

I’ve stated in the past that I’m pretty well out as a Pagan. It says so right there on my mundane Twitter account, and on my religion info section of my Facebook page. However, I’ve never mentioned the word “Wiccan” or “witch.” One must remember that I came to this path in my 40’s, twelve years ago, so even being Pagan was hard for some to swallow. A few people did find out about my Wiccan path about 8 years ago, and we lost one couple to their own small-mindedness. I really see no need to shove witchcraft in anyone’s face. I didn’t do that with my birth religion, so why should I do that with Wicca?

I have boatloads of envy for people who either grow up in a Pagan home, or young people who find the path early in life, and who have no hesitation outwardly living their path. The  people who become friends with them know of their spiritual path, and could really be considered true friends. Plus these young people get a lifetime of joy from their paths.

But I digress. On Facebook, you can control what others see to some extent. When I join a Pagan/witchcraft group, I “hide” it from my timeline via the Activity Log. However, if you post on a public page that will show up in your timeline. A closed group post won’t. However, if someone who was friends with me happened to look through group pages, it would indicate that I am a member of the group, or “like” a page. I’ve actually come across two friends like that in witchcraft groups, and I had no idea that they were on the path.

Ultimately, I’ve outed my witchcraft self is anyone took the time to dig a bit. This would have freaked me out 10 years ago. But as I get older, I care less and less about what others think. And frankly, most people are so concerned about what others think of them, they don’t have time to worry about others.

I’ve followed a lot of Pagans and witches on my mundane Twitter feed too. So there’s another big clue. But honestly, I don’t feel I can be as open there as I can on my Pagan Twitter account, so I find myself spending 90% of my time on the latter. I do have a witchcraft Facebook account, and I do spend some time there. Frankly, I worry about getting kicked off Facebook for having two accounts. Oddly enough, on that witchcraft account, I have almost as many “friends” as I do on my mundane account. Pagans and witches are a friendly group, that’s for sure.

If I were a young person, I think my biggest concern about fully coming out of the broom closet would be the employment situation. I realize that, unfortunately, being known as a witch doesn’t sit well with some people. I’d be interested to hear from some out-of-the-closet Pagans and witches regarding their experiences about that. If you try to get a job at a large company or corporation, does your spirituality become an issue in the hiring process? How are you perceived/accepted by your coworkers?

I read about witches & Pagans becoming upset about employers asking them to take off a pentagram necklace while their Christian counterparts are openly wearing crosses. It’s not fair in the least. I have seen some damn big pentagram necklaces though, and that might be pushing it a bit far. Balance is probably best.

So I would say that I have one foot out of the broom closet with the other inching towards the door. I do think there is something to be said about witchcraft secrecy. It’s kind of like having an ace up your sleeve. In your heart, you know that you have a certain power that others don’t possess.

I know that there are lots of interesting stories out there among my fellow Pagans and witches regarding the broom closet. I would love to read any thoughts or comments you have on the subject. Please feel free to leave a comment!

Thanks for reading!

Blessed Be

Author:

Adult male Pagan, witch, and modern day hippie. I've been on the Craft path since February of 2004. For much of my life I was the picture of consumerism. Only after finding Wicca in my early 40's, did I realize that buying and having lots of stuff did not equate to happiness. So I, along with my wife, decided to live a simpler lifestyle. I opted to take a more casual and hands-on approach to a magickal life. Cottage witchery lets me infuse magick into everyday home life and activities. In our home, we have flipped the "normal" social roles, as I am in charge of household care & cooking. Previously, I didn't think I could remain a Wiccan while relaxing my physical rituals, but now, I see no problem with that whatsoever. Now, I try to use all natural and homemade cleaning products. I use essential oils and other simple ingredients to make body care products. We are suburban hippies, with a little witchcraft thrown in for good measure.

Leave a Reply

