Posted in Cottage Witchcraft, Wicca/Witchcraft

Wiccan. Cottage Witch. What’s in a Name?

gz31uVi_qp86uy4ToC0DwHxopK72HYQQAMXhfWLVHh3znPbnywGNR2GZYPNC_eQjDCYWHmNQcW5vbg91V-kBvydRw1u7OH-6oxVkMRgGZ86849g6bG9YNcLMb-9ajljXeJXuF-3Q9Bmopz_lKVS4tjyBopCaxARNrPRXsd6tONZTouG4xOZGRzv3XRXRbQyN60aNENK3q7VdVsPg-8Cx2iJyoQT5imPnoI’ve been bouncing around trying to juggle a few blogs, and determine which direction I want to go, and trying to choose the proper blog. I’ve struggled a bit with setting aside the more formal “Wiccan” self-description for the decidedly less formal “cottage witch.” Obviously, this is more of a personal decision than a choice between blogs. But, in this case, they go hand-in-hand, as I want to document my thoughts and path.

In the end, there is no doubt that my path has become less formal, and is now mainly concentrated on our home, health, and food. However, the path that brought me to this place was Wicca. It is the path on which I learned all about growing herbs, drying herbs, using them in cooking, rituals, spells, health, and countless other uses. The same goes for essential oils. Wicca taught me how to fashion spells and rituals, and well, everything I know about witchcraft.

Ultimately, I think the semantics are less important than what is in my heart. While I don’t now follow the formality of Wicca in regard to ritual, circle castings, or formal spells, I do adhere to the basic tenets of the Wiccan path. I believe in the Rede, the Rule of the Three, karma, the concept of The Summerland, and reincarnation. So while my day-to-day practice is centered around the home and family, the skeleton of my path is Wicca. So please don’t be offended or surprised if I use the terms cottage witch and Wiccan interchangeably.

I’ve also decided to stop suppressing my interests in subjects that are not readily accepted outside the Pagan and witchcraft community. In the past I was somewhat self-conscious about my beliefs in the myriad of Gods and Goddesses in which I believe, the supernatural, faeries, the true power of magick, other planes of existence, reincarnation, and other extensions of Pagan and witchcraft beliefs. In the past, I would downplay many of my beliefs in order to appear, for lack of a better word, “normal.” Now, normal is what I believe, without concern of what others might think.

Over the past few years, I’ve hidden my path less and less. I’ve never uttered the word “witch,” but I’m self described as Pagan in any personal social media outlet. Honestly, those personal, mundane social media outlets have dwindled down to a select few, as my mundane life has faded, and my witchcraft life has eclipsed it.

I’ve chosen to stick with this blog as Hippie Cottage Witch seems to be an appropriate name for where I’m at on my path, and I need to start being consistent with staying with one blogging outlet.

Thanks for hanging in there with me.

Blessed Be.

 

 

Author:

Adult male Pagan, witch, and modern day hippie. I've been on the Craft path since February of 2004. For much of my life I was the picture of consumerism. Only after finding Wicca in my early 40's, did I realize that buying and having lots of stuff did not equate to happiness. So I, along with my wife, decided to live a simpler lifestyle. I opted to take a more casual and hands-on approach to a magickal life. Cottage witchery lets me infuse magick into everyday home life and activities. In our home, we have flipped the "normal" social roles, as I am in charge of household care & cooking. Previously, I didn't think I could remain a Wiccan while relaxing my physical rituals, but now, I see no problem with that whatsoever. Now, I try to use all natural and homemade cleaning products. I use essential oils and other simple ingredients to make body care products. We are suburban hippies, with a little witchcraft thrown in for good measure.

Leave a Reply

